Current Projects

warrior-woman-234253

 

Tamed by H L Petrovic

YA fantasy 

Currently: undergoing last round of edits before submission 

‘A slave only lives for today,’ is MIRA HALLANAN’s motto. Raised in the mines, Mira knows nothing of the outside world except the stories her grandmother tells, yet, she’s certain there’s something different about her: the other slaves shun her, and she’s plagued by nightmares of places she’s never been.

When her grandmother is murdered, Mira attempts escape and is taken from the mines by brooding wizard, TYR. He intends to deliver Mira to King AL ZALAAM’s palace no matter how much she pleads for freedom.

Al Zalaam, the man who enslaved Mira’s people, recognises Mira’s true identity. She is a chrysalling – a child of the immortal bird-women called harnosti – who appear human until their sixteenth birthday when the full moon irrevocably transforms them. Safe in the mines, Mira has avoided transformation.

Al Zalaam gives Mira a place in his palace, showers her with gifts and attempts to woo her. He even promises to ‘cure’ her harnost fate by creating powerful spells. But Tyr sows doubt about Al Zalaam’s altruism. Who is Mira to trust? The wizard who seems only to want to use her, or the King who offers everything her heart desires at no apparent price?

In a world of demons, immortals, magic and sunshine, Mira will learn that there are more days to live for than just today. And, as she races the next full moon to avoid a fate that seems certain, she will learn that her heart and head do not always agree.

With a non-western-European setting, TAMED includes Persian, Nordic and Balkan influences. It would appeal to fans of Alwyn Hamilton’s Rebel of the Sands or Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass. It is the first book in a planned trilogy.

 

White Eyes by H L Petrovic

Adult fantasy 

Currently: shelved

Sharah Goodwin, a herder’s wife, never thought she’d have to kill until the White Eyes murdered her husband and took her from her four-year-old son.

Kept prisoner, Sharah knows death is imminent. The White Eyes will sacrifice her to the curse that turns eyes white and grants a year’s immortality. But Sharah will do anything to get home, even if it means murder, and becoming White Eyes herself. 

Waylaid on her journey home, Sharah becomes the unwilling servant of a ruthless queen, her scheming Spellweaver and a band of white-eyed warrior women who intend to save the world. 

There are no virgin archetypes waiting for rescue in this novel. White Eyes is a 120,000-word gritty epic fantasy novel, with a strong, proactive female cast. It combines the female-driven thematics of writers like Sara Douglass and Juliet Marillier, a single POV character arc, and is set in a dangerous world reminiscent of George R R Martin or Joe Abercrombie.

White Eyes received a Highly Commended in the Australian Society of Authors Emerging Writers’ and Illustrators’ Mentorship Program 2013-14.

 

OTHER PROJECTS

Black Heart

Sequel to White Eyes. Draft complete but messy. Red Flame, the third book of the GODSPELL saga, sits at around 50,000 words.

 

Gods of New London

Steampunk set in an alternate Victorian England with reincarnated Egyptian Gods. Currently about 70,000 words into the first draft, and Charles Darwin just dropped in on a dirigible. Ah, the joys of being a pantser!

 

Ash and Thorn 

YA Fantasy Romance featuring a spunky female lead and one very handsome he-dryad!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s