Semi-colons; No Place for Them in Fiction?

Excessive semi-colon overuse? Guilty as charged!

M. Q. Allen

This week, as part of a critters critique, I passed on some comments I’ve received from many critters and from a few professionals as well: don’t use semi-colons in fiction. Per critters guidelines, I didn’t present it as a rule, more as a “here’s what response I get when use them.”

You see, I love semi-colons. They are a natural form of expression for me.

Here’s what Kurt Vonnegut had to say about them in A Man without a Country, according to The Quotations Page. I’ve seen it referenced many times so it’s probably an accurate quote.

Here is a lesson in creative writing. First rule: Do not use semicolons. They are transvestite hermaphrodites representing absolutely nothing. All they do is show you’ve been to college.

Kurt was entitled to his opinions and he was no doubt on firmer ground than I am but that seems overly dismissive to…

View original post 471 more words

4 thoughts on “Semi-colons; No Place for Them in Fiction?

    • Hi Vexar,

      Thank you for the thought and sorry for the late reply. It’s been a little crazy at home and work lately. I didn’t see me on your post so I suspect you assumed I wasn’t interested but either way, thanks for the thought!

      Cheers

  1. Pingback: I can’t breathe with you , my doom. « How my heart speaks

Leave a Reply

